每一项技术都始于灵感——以一种不同方式做某事的想法和愿景。灵感的下一步是研发——大量的技术和科学工作,将纸面想法转化为在实践中有效的技术。最后一步至关重要:如何让技术规模化,从而使现实世界中的数百万甚至数十亿人从中受益?

这需要资本投资,和其他努力。

CCS 这样的技术而言,所需的投资无疑是巨大的,工业化规模部署CCS是一项长期的承诺。为了使此类投资具有长期的商业价值,利益相关者希望政府的政策能够支持他们帮助推广的技术。如果现有的监管环境背道而驰,投资就不太可能实现。

为了吸引必要的资本投资,让 CCS 中心这样的概念成为现实,埃克森美孚持有三个关键的政策立场。

1. 整个经济范围内的碳价格

在整个经济范围内,为二氧化碳建立协调的、透明的市场价格,这对于发展碳捕获的商业前景非常重要。稳定和透明的碳价格有助于提供推动投资所需的经济可预期性和稳定性,并激励减排行动。

2. 技术中立的方法

没有任何一项技术能独立满足《巴黎协定》中所述的气候目标。这就是为什么政府政策需认可并平等对待不同的技术,并让每一个解决方案都有机会得以发展,这一点至关重要。在技术中立的政策框架下,减排技术才能在公平的环境下竞争。

3. 可预测的政策环境

投资者被确定性所吸引,而创新思维被机会所吸引。为促进CCS技术的广泛部署和规模化,需要可预测的、稳定的、具成本效益的政策来激励这一技术。气候变化的挑战是长期存在的,任何政策应对措施都需要有同样的视角。一项长期的政策激励措施可以是税收抵免,以促进资本对CCS 技术的分配。

对技术……和政策的挑战

找到正确的政策解决方案来支持 CCS,与部署技术本身一样具有挑战性。为帮助在政策方面取得进展,埃克森美孚持续积极参与鼓励完善和建设性的解决方案的相关努力。更多信息,请阅读我们的《推进气候解决方案 2022 年进展报告》中的政策部分。

 

我们尊重并支持整个社会在2050 年前实现净零排放的目标,并继续倡导促进具有成本效益、鼓励市场化解决方案的政策,以应对气候变化的风险。

- 伍德伦 埃克森美孚董事长兼首席执行官

Tags

  • icon/text-size
You May Also Like

探索 更多

测试,改进,发展
天然气 让更多美好发生
海藻的力量

Every technology begins with inspiration – an idea and a vision for a different way of doing something. The next step is research and development – the intensive technical, scientific work that turns an idea on paper into a technology that works in practice. Then, the final step is critical: How do you scale up a technology into something that can benefit millions, or even billions, of people in the real world?

It takes capital investment (among other things).

In the case of a technology like CCS, the investment required is enormous, and deployment at an industrial scale is a long-term commitment. To make the long-term business case for such an investment, stakeholders expect that government policy will support the technology they’re helping to scale. If the existing regulatory environment is working against that, investment is unlikely.

To attract the capital investment needed to make a concept like a CCS hub a reality, ExxonMobil believes in three key policy positions.

1. An economy-wide price on carbon

Establishing a coordinated, transparent, economy-wide market price on carbon dioxide is an important element of building the business case for capturing it. A stable and transparent price on carbon can help provide the economic clarity and stability required to drive investment – as well as incentivize action to reduce emissions.

2. A technology-neutral approach

No single technology will enable society to meet the climate ambitions outlined in the Paris Agreement. That’s why it’s so important that government policies acknowledge the need for many different solutions to be treated equally and for each to have the opportunity to thrive. With a technology-neutral framework, emission-reduction technologies will be able to compete on a level playing field.

3. A predictable policy landscape

Investors are drawn to certainty, and innovative minds to opportunity. Predictable, stable, cost-effective policies to incentivize CCS are needed to promote the broad deployment and scalability of this technology. The climate change challenge is long term, and any policy response needs to have the same perspective. One long-term policy incentive could be a tax credit to promote the allocation of capital to CCS.

A challenge for technology … and policy

Finding the right policy solutions to support CCS is as much of a challenge as deploying the technology itself. To help make progress on policy, ExxonMobil continues to engage in efforts to encourage sound and constructive solutions. For more information, read the policy section of our Advancing Climate Solutions 2022 Progress Report.

 

We respect and support society’s ambition to achieve net-zero emissions by 2050 and continue to advocate for policies that promote cost-effective, market-based solutions to address the risks of climate change.

- Darren W. Woods Chairman & CEO, ExxonMobil

Tags

  • icon/text-size
You May Also Like

Explore More

The power of algae
Test, improve, grow
FAQ: How often should you actually change your oil?