关于天然气,您可能不了解的 9 件事

科学技术

天然气 – 它为我们的家庭供暖、为我们的家用电器供电、可用于发电,还可以为车辆提供燃料。这种用途广泛且储量丰富的资源有助于减少全世界的温室气体排放。虽然天然气在新闻中出现的频率相当频繁,但很多人只会将它与家庭供暖和做饭联系起来。

在这里我们汇总九个有关天然气的事实,帮助您了解我们日常使用的这种能源。

 

1. 当我们讨论天然气时,我们在讨论什么。

它的主要成分是甲烷 – 由一个碳原子和四个氢原子组成 – 并且不应与汽车使用的汽油相混淆。它是在地下发现的,与石油类似,占世界能源供应的 22%。这个数字在未来 20 年内还将增长,因为未来天然气可能会比任何其它燃料使用得更多。

2. 它有很多个名字。

天然气在冷却至 -260°F 时冷凝,称为液化天然气或 LNG。在液态形式下,LNG 船能够将 LNG运输到世界各地。从地面抽出天然气后,加工去除较重的成分;这些较重的成分被称为天然气凝析液或 NGL。NGL 的成分包括乙烷、丁烷和丙烷,是生产日常使用的塑料的重要原料。

3. 它是可再生能源的强力补充。

随着可再生能源作为电力能源的不断发展,作为可再生能源的有力补充,天然气发电脱颖而出,用以保障可靠和可迅速恢复的电网。在阴天和无风的日子里,这种高效、灵活的能源可以补充可再生能源的不足。

4. 它比空气轻。

天然气,特别是甲烷,比二氧化碳密度小,因此比空气轻。在气态下,它也占据了很大的体积,难以运输,因此,天然气公司可以对其进行加压处理,从而使天然气可以通过管道实现陆地运输。

5.它帮助我们达到新的(碳)低点。

天然气的碳足迹也低于其他传统能源。例如,它在发电过程中产生的二氧化碳排放量比煤炭少 60%。当与可捕获 90% 排放的碳捕获和封存 (CCS) 配合使用时,它可能帮助减少更多的能源足迹。

6. 没有人能闻到它的气味。

在天然状态下,天然气无味、无色、无气味。这种燃料的指示性气味实际上来自于故意添加的添加剂,使它产生气味,更易于检测。

7. 它无处不在。

在交通运输领域,天然气发动机也有助于减少排放。Sunny Los Angeles 正在推动使用压缩天然气 (CNG) 车辆,其拥有 2,000 辆公共汽车和充足的加气站,通过减少二氧化碳排放和烟雾中的氮氧化物来帮助改善空气质量。在公海上,船舶正在使用 LNG 为他们的航程提供动力并将燃料运输到世界各地,对于这种不断发展的燃料技术而言,这就是双赢。

8. 这种气体的减少令人难以置信。

说到 LNG,液化天然气占据的空间是天然气的 1/600;这就像将沙滩球的体积缩小到乒乓球一样,节省了空间,因此,LNG 船只可以将每次航程所运输的能源量最大化

9. 埃克森美孚现在更加耀眼 然而燃除更少。

为了进一步提高天然气的减排效益,埃克森美孚承诺,到 2020 年将天然气燃除减少 25%,并将甲烷排放量降低 15%。公司正在寻找新的方法来改善生产过程的每个环节,以实现天然气生产保持增长,而排放量下降。

 

资料来源:
美国能源部,天然气凝析液初级读本
XTO 能源,设备
虚拟化学书,密度
埃克森美孚,天然气
EIA Energy Kids,天然气
国家地理,天然气
埃克森美孚,2018 年能源展望

Tags:   GIFs天然气
你也许也喜欢

探索更多

9 things you might not know about natural gas

Science & technology

Natural gas – it heats our homes, powers our appliances, generates electricity and can even fuel vehicles. This versatile and abundant resource is contributing to emissions reductions all over the world. Though natural gas is in the news quite a bit, many people only associate it with home heating and cooking.

We’re here to fix that. We’ve assembled ten facts to help you learn about the energy we use every day.

1. What we talk about when we talk about natural gas.

It’s primarily methane – a carbon atom and four hydrogen atoms – and should not be confused with the gasoline used in cars. It’s found underground, similar to oil, and supplies 22 percent of the world’s energy. That number is set to grow in the next 20 years, as natural gas use is likely to increase more than any other fuel source.

2. It goes by a lot of names.

Natural gas, when it’s cooled to -260°F, condenses, and is referred to as liquefied natural gas, or LNG. In its liquid form, LNG ships can transport LNG around the world. When natural gas is extracted from the ground, it’s processed to remove heavier components; these heavier components are called natural gas liquids, or NGLs. Those NGLs include ethane, butane and propane, and are important feedstocks that help us produce plastics used every day.

3. It’s quite a complement – to renewable power.

As renewable power continues to grow as a source of electricity, natural gas-fired power generation stands out as a strong complement to renewables to ensure a reliable and resilient power grid. This efficient, flexible power source is ready to supplement dips in renewable energy on cloudy and windless days.

4. It’s lighter than air.

Natural gas, specifically methane, is less dense than carbon dioxide, so it’s technically lighter than air. In its gaseous state, it also takes up a great deal of volume, making it challenging to transport, so companies can pressurize it to allow transportation across land through pipelines.

5.  It’s helping us reach new (carbon) lows.

Natural gas also has a lower carbon footprint than other traditional energy sources. For example, it emits 60 percent less CO2 emissions than coal in electricity generation. When paired with carbon capture and sequestration (CCS), which could capture 90 percent of emissions, it has the potential to help reduce our energy’s footprint even more.

6. No one smelt it.

In its natural state, natural gas is tasteless, colorless and odorless. The fuel’s telltale scent is actually from an additive that is deliberately added to make it smell and easier to detect.

7.  It’s going places.

Within the transportation sector, natural gas-powered engines can also help reduce emissions. Sunny Los Angeles is pushing ahead using compressed natural gas (CNG) vehicles with its fleet of 2,000 buses and ample fueling stations helping improve air quality by reducing both CO2 emissions and the nitrogen oxides found in smog. On the high seas, ships are using LNG to power their trips and transport the fuel around the world, a win-win for this evolving fuel technology.

8.  Call it the incredible shrinking gas.

And speaking of LNG, liquefied natural gas takes up 1/600 the space of natural gas; that’s like shrinking the volume of a beach ball down to a ping-pong ball, saving space so LNG ships can maximize the energy transported each trip.

9.  ExxonMobil’s got flair – but a lot less flaring.

To further enhance natural gas emissions benefits versus other fuels, ExxonMobil has committed to reducing natural gas flaring by 25 percent and lowering methane emissions by 15 percent from its operations by 2020. The company is finding new ways to make each part of the production process better, so that as natural gas production continues to increase, emissions drop.

 

Sources:
U.S. Department of Energy, Natural Gas Liquids Primer
XTO Energy, Equipment
Virtual Chem Book, Density
ExxonMobil, Natural Gas
EIA Energy Kids, Natural Gas
National Geographic, Natural Gas
ExxonMobil, 2018 Outlook for Energy

Tags:   GIFs
You may also like

Explore More