Energy Factor: Russ,感谢您与我们一起探讨低排放燃料的发展前景。请简单介绍一下您在公司的职业生涯吧。

Russ Green:在我职业生涯的大部分时间里,我一直负责燃料和润滑油业务。在这些业务中,我曾帮助开发和部署了我们领先的埃克森、埃索、美孚、美孚1号 和 Federal 品牌的产品和客户解决方案。我非常荣幸能与通用汽车、丰田、保时捷、红牛一级方程式车队、美国全国改装赛车竞赛协会 (NASCAR) 和美国篮球协会 (NBA) 等合作伙伴以及我们出色的分销商和品牌批发商合作。在我的职业生涯中,我还有机会与我们世界一流的技术和制造团队合作。这些团队推动了我们产品的差异化发展,还提供了物流专业知识。

EF:您能谈谈埃克森美孚在低排放燃料方面所开展的工作吗?以及这对您在能源转型过程中所扮演的角色意味着什么?

 

RG:我们计划在如何使世界脱碳方面发挥带头作用。我们正在投资生产排放较低的燃料,包括生物燃料和 eFuel,eFuel 是一种由氢和捕获的二氧化碳(碳捕获产生的二氧化碳)制成的合成燃料。从我们在加拿大Strathcona的可再生柴油项目,到我们对挪威的 Biojet AS 公司(一家将木材废物转化为生物燃料的公司)的投资,我们已经切实开展了很多项目,这些项目有一天会为全球各地的市场提供务。

我们的客户也希望减少自己的排放,我们正与他们合作,提供低排放的燃料解决方案,因为我们都在努力实现社会的净零目标。加入这项工作令人激动不已。埃克森美孚有许多人致力于产品方案业务和低碳方案业务,与他们一样,我也将数十年来在传统燃料领域积累的专业知识以及新思维应用到新一代燃料的新世界中。

EF:您概述了埃克森美孚在提供这些解决方案方面的承诺。您能谈谈公司对交通运输行业的看法吗?

RG:我们关注的重点之一是,找出经济领域中的高排放行业,从而了解如何运用创新的解决方案和产品来帮助这些行业实现脱碳。

今天,交通运输占全球能源相关二氧化碳排放量的 23%。其中,约 52% 的排放量来自重型运输,如卡车、飞机和船舶。因此,在交通运输行业,我们希望开发替代燃料,以降低重型卡车运输、航空和航运业的排放。

除了推进利用传统生物制剂进行生产的项目外,我们还在进一步发展可规模化技术的未来部署,如将林业废弃物或通过氢和二氧化碳生成的可再生液体等先进生物原料升级为交通运输燃料。我们希望成为该领域的领导者,并致力于为客户提供整个交通运输行业需要的燃料。

如果翻阅《推进气候解决方案》报告,您会看到我们公司的承诺。例如,我们计划到 2025 年每天生产超过 40,000 桶低排放燃油,到 2030 年每天生产约 200,000 桶。实现这些目标将有助于全球减少 2,500 多万公吨的温室气体排放。

EF:从宏观角度来看,你们所完成的工作确实令人印象深刻。那么,它将如何应用于交通运输领域;您能谈谈工作中的具体内容吗?

RG:当然,我们来看看航空业以及我们在该行业中所做的工作。当大多数人考虑交通运输产生的排放时,他们会关注马路。但是,当您想到天空时,由于许多原因,我们目前没有切实可行的方法能够实现电动飞机飞行。而原型氢燃料飞机则需要克服一些巨大的技术挑战。

因此,为了快速减少排放,世界需要在全球多个地点大幅增加可持续航空燃料 (SAF) 的生产。

EF:什么是可持续航空燃料?

RG:当我们谈论可持续燃料时,通常我们真正关注的是如何将可持续原料提炼成燃料。具体而言,我们正在考虑利用各种原料(如植物油、用过的食用油和林业废弃物等)生产燃料。这些生物燃料将在低排放的未来中发挥重要作用,并且是我们战略的关键领域。

在航空领域,我们正与航空公司客户密切合作,以帮助确保遵守严格质量法规的 SAF 产品是“发动机就绪”燃料,并可用于现有机队。这意味着这些燃料可以很轻松地融入目前支持航空领域的基础设施。

EF:这听起来不是小工程,但无疑是一个需要解决的重要挑战。您觉得埃克森美孚在这方面取得的进展如何?

RG:我们拥有取得成功所需的战略和行业领先能力。如今,利用我们在喷气燃料供应和分销方面的专业知识,我们正与第三方合作,向法国、新加坡和英国的客户交付可持续航空燃料,以满足近期需求。未来我们预计将在全球多个地点生产可持续航空燃料,以更充分地满足客户的需求。

作为员工,我们一直在谈论如何让公司成为能够为能源转型做出贡献的理想场所,因为存在持续的技术和市场挑战,需要不断创新来扩大我们低排放燃料的生产。

EF:听起来未来肯定会是无比精彩。感谢您抽出宝贵时间来参加我们的访谈,Russ。

RG:不客气。我们有很棒的员工,我们随时准备好实现这一目标!

Tags

  • icon/text-size
You May Also Like

探索 更多

测试,改进,发展
天然气 让更多美好发生
海藻的力量

Energy Factor: Russ, thanks for talking to us about the landscape of lower-emission fuels. Tell us a little bit about your career with the company.

Russ Green: For the majority of my career, I have been a part of our fuels and lubricants businesses. In those businesses I’ve helped develop and deploy products and customer solutions for our leading Exxon, Esso, Mobil, Mobil 1 and Federal brands. I’ve had the great privilege to work with partners like General Motors, Toyota, Porsche, Red Bull Racing in Formula 1, NASCAR and the NBA, as well as our fantastic distributors and branded wholesalers. Throughout my career, I’ve also had the opportunity to engage with our world-class technology and manufacturing teams, who drive our product differentiation and logistical expertise.

EF: Can you talk about what ExxonMobil is doing with lower-emission fuels and what that means for your role amidst the energy transition?

RG: We plan to play a leading role in how the world decarbonizes. We are investing in fuel production with lower emissions, including biofuels and eFuel, which is a synthetic fuel made from hydrogen and captured CO2, carbon dioxide from carbon capture. From our renewable diesel project in Strathcona, Canada, to our investment in Norway’s Biojet AS, a company that turns wood waste into biofuel, we have a number of projects in motion that will one day serve many markets around the world.

Our customers are also looking to reduce their emissions, and we’re partnering with them to deliver lower-emission fuel solutions as we all work to achieve society’s net-zero goals. It’s exciting to be part of this effort. Like others, I work within ExxonMobil’s Product Solutions Company and Low Carbon Solutions businesses, I’m applying the expertise we’ve developed over decades of working in traditional fuels along with new thinking to this new world of next-generation fuels.

EF: You’ve outlined ExxonMobil’s commitment in providing these solutions. Can you talk about how the company views the transportation sector?

RG: A key focus of ours is to identify some of the highest-emitting sectors of the economy to see how we can apply innovative solutions and products to help decarbonize them.

Today, transportation makes up 23% of the world’s energy-related carbon dioxide emissions. Of that, about 52% comes from heavy transportation, like trucks, planes and ships. So, within the transportation sector, we are looking to develop alternative fuels that lower emissions across the heavy-duty trucking, aviation and shipping industries.

In addition to progressing projects utilizing conventional biofeeds for production, we are also advancing toward the future deployment of scalable technologies to upgrade advanced biofeeds, such as forestry residues, or renewable liquids produced from hydrogen and carbon dioxide, into transportation fuels. It’s our desire to be a leader and we are focused on delivering the fuels that our customers desire across all transportation sectors.

If you look at the “Advancing Climate Solutions” report, you’ll see the commitment from the company. For example, we are planning to produce more than 40,000 barrels per day of lower-emission fuels by 2025 – and then approximately 200,000 barrels per day by 2030. Achieving those goals would help the world reduce more than 25 million metric tons of greenhouse gas emissions.

EF: That’s an impressive macro look at the work being done and how it could apply to the world of transportation; can you talk specifics on what’s in the works?

RG: Absolutely – let’s look at aviation and the work we’re doing within that industry. When most people consider emissions from transportation, they look to the road. But, when you think about the air, there’s no practical way we can fly on electric planes today due to a whole host of reasons. And prototype hydrogen-fueled planes have some large technical challenges to overcome.

So, in order to reduce emissions quickly, the world will need to significantly increase the production of sustainable aviation fuel, or SAF, at multiple locations around the globe.

EF: What is sustainable aviation fuel?

RG: When we talk about sustainable fuel, in general, we’re really looking at how we refine sustainable feeds into fuels. Specifically, we’re looking at making fuels from different feedstocks like vegetable oils, used cooking oils and forestry residues, among other renewable sources. These biofuels will play an important part in a lower-emission future and are a key area of our strategy.

In the aviation world, we’re working closely with our airline customers to help ensure that SAF products, which are subject to strict quality regulations, are “engine ready” fuels that can be used in today’s existing fleet. This means that they can be integrated easily into the current infrastructure that supports the aviation sector.

EF: That sounds like no small feat but certainly an important challenge to solve. How do you see ExxonMobil progressing this?

RG: We have the strategy and industry-leading capabilities needed to succeed. Today, through our expertise in the supply and distribution of jet fuel, we are working with third parties to deliver SAF to customers in France, Singapore and the U.K. to meet near-term needs. Over time, we expect to produce SAF in multiple locations around the world to more fully meet our customers’ sustainable fuel needs.

As employees, we keep talking about how this is the right place to contribute to the energy transition because there are ongoing technical and market challenges that need continued innovation to scale up our production of lower-emission fuels.

EF: Sounds like exciting times ahead, for sure. Thanks for your time, Russ.

RG: My pleasure. We have great people who are ready to make it happen!

Tags

  • icon/text-size
You May Also Like

Explore More

All About Algae: Advantages of Algae Biofuels
Test, Improve, Grow to Raise Living Standards
How Often Should You Actually Change Your Oil?