本文改编自 Adamantine Energy 的 Tisha Schuller 播客访谈

了解 Matt 在帮助埃克森美孚减少温室气体排放和构建社会所需要的可持续能源解决方案方面所做的重要工作及投入的热情。

问题:您能谈谈您在埃克森美孚担任首席环保科学家的职责吗?

Matt Kolesar我主要负责帮助协调和制定公司各项业务运营的全球可持续发展战略,我们的业务非常多元化,从上游和非常规页岩气到深水开发,再到我们的化工公司和炼油厂,不一而足。这些领域需要跟踪了解的地方很多,我与公司的高层领导为此做了很多工作。

这是我自记事以来就梦寐以求的工作。我一直热衷于帮助解决环保领域的棘手问题。我是个比较好胜的人,对我来说,帮助埃克森美孚在能源转型中发挥关键作用就是最大的胜利。

问:您会如何描述埃克森美孚在能源转型中发挥的作用?

MK我们的低排放解决方案工作已经持续了一段时间,远远超出低碳方案业务建立之初的范围。比如,我们正在发掘许多新的碳捕获机会,并努力在全球范围内推广。我们制定了在 2050 年前实现温室气体净零排放的目标。[1] 到 2030 年,我们计划将公司温室气体强度降低 20% 到 30%,将公司甲烷强度降低 70% 到 80%,并将整个公司的燃除强度降低 60% 到 70%。

具有可量化成果的明确计划始终是我们企业文化的核心。为此,我们正在对全球各地的所有主要运营资产开展全面调查。这些调查或着说我们的“路线图”将有助于确定减少排放的机会。

所有这些都需要复杂的规划,因为我们在全球各地的工厂开展相关工作,以在 2050 年实现净零。

问:您是否会将这一目标称为公司的变革时机?

MK作为一家由工程师和科学家组成的公司,我们乐意接受这一挑战。我们的科学家和工程师对于所有这些工作都至关重要。虽然我们的一些产品和解决方案看起来可能与外部世界不同,无论是碳捕获和存储 [CCS]、生物燃料、氢还是基于自然的解决方案,它们都在利用我们员工现有的专业知识。看看碳捕获。我们的地下专家、地质学家和地球科学家可以从勘探碳氢化合物过渡到寻找存储机会。

在氢能方面,我们的制造工厂生产了数十年的。我们尚未充分利用所有新技能组合,也没有采用大规模的新基础设施。推出这一全新低碳方案业务的目的在于以现有技能组合为基础开发新业务。这类新市场的潜力巨大。我们估计,到 2050 年,仅 CCS 就将成为价值 4 万亿美元的产业。

问:甲烷也是埃克森美孚低排放工作的一个重要组成部分。您可以就此谈谈吗?

MK与未来 30 至 50 年所需的其他温室气体减排措施相比,甲烷减排工作的实施更直接。我们现在拥有一些令人兴奋的工具,可以尽早地发挥重大作用。我们已经宣布有关基于地面的连续性传感器、天线和飞机的工作,我们知道卫星将会成为该解决方案的一个组成部分。

但我会提醒自己要保持谦逊。五年前,这些技术都不存在,如果认为它们会止步不前,那是很天真的想法。我们必须跟上时代。

问:年轻员工的工作方式是怎样的?您从年轻一代看到了什么?

MK年轻人非常希望参与在确保满足日益增长的全球能源需求情况下的能源转型。他们也希望为此贡献自己的力量。在我的工作中,也包括帮助员工了解他们在埃克森美孚的角色如何推进这些低碳解决方案,或者他们的技能如何随着我们未来项目的发展而转变为这类解决方案。

问:在谈到这类未来项目时,埃克森公司承诺在未来五年花费 150 亿美元用于减少温室气体排放。您能谈谈都将资助哪些项目吗?

MK我们已将大量资金投入到广泛的碳捕获、氢气和生物燃料类别中。我们捕获的碳比世界上任何其他公司都要多,而且我们的 CCS 业务也在继续进一步增长。去年,我们推出休斯顿中心,这是一个简单而伟大的创意:“我们在休斯顿设立该大型工业中心,涵盖各个产业。那么,我们捕获碳输出的情况如何呢?”

预测数字非常惊人:到 2040 年每年碳存储达到 1 亿公吨。除埃克森美孚之外,可以实现这一目标的公司并不多。我们最近还宣布在贝敦综合体建立蓝氢工厂。蓝氢由天然气生成,并由碳捕获与存储提供支持,预计该项目将使我们的范围 1 和 2 排放减少高达 30%。

因此,150 亿美元是一笔大数目,这表明了我们对此问题的承诺。这就是社会为解决这些复杂问题所需要的认同和承诺。

这是千载难遇的挑战,我对未来感到无比期待。

 

[1] 到 2050 年实现运营资产的范围 1 和 2 温室气体净零排放。

Tags

  • icon/text-size
You May Also Like

探索 更多

测试,改进,发展
天然气 让更多美好发生
海藻的力量

This article is an adapted version of a podcast interview conducted by Tisha Schuller from Adamantine Energy.

Hear about Matt’s important work and enthusiasm in helping ExxonMobil reduce its greenhouse gas emissions and create the sustainable energy solutions that society needs.

Question: Can you talk a bit about your role at ExxonMobil as chief environmental scientist?

Matt Kolesar: My primary role is to help coordinate and develop the global strategy for sustainability across our diverse operations, from our upstream and unconventional shale to our deep-water developments to our chemical companies and our refineries. There’s a lot to keep track of in that, and I do a lot of work with the company’s top leaders.

This has been my dream job for as long as I can remember. I’ve always had a keen interest in helping solve these kinds of tough problems. I’ve always been very competitive, and to me, winning here is helping ExxonMobil play a critical role in this energy transition.

Q: And how would you characterize ExxonMobil’s part in the energy transition?

MK: Well, our work in lower-emission solutions has been ongoing for quite some time, well beyond the creation of our Low Carbon Solutions business. One example is we’re identifying many new carbon capture opportunities that we’re trying to launch around the world. We’ve rolled out a net-zero greenhouse gas ambition by 2050.[1] By 2030, we’re planning a 20% to 30% reduction in corporate greenhouse gas intensity, a 70% to 80% reduction in corporate methane intensity, and a 60% to 70% reduction in corporate-wide flaring intensity.

Definitive plans with quantifiable outcomes have always been core to our culture. To that end, we’re conducting an extensive survey of all our major operating assets around the world. Those surveys, or what we call “roadmaps,” will help determine opportunities for reducing emissions.

All of this requires complex planning as we work around the world in our facilities to reach net-zero by 2050.

Q: Would you describe this as a transformative moment for the company?

MK: As a company of engineers and scientists, we love the challenge. And it’s our scientists and engineers that are the key to all of this. While some of our products and solutions may look different to the outside world, whether it’s carbon capture and sequestration [CCS], biofuels, hydrogen or nature-based solutions, they’re all utilizing the existing expertise that our employees already bring to the table. Look at carbon capture. Our experts on the subsurface, geologists and geoscientists, can transition from exploring for hydrocarbons to also looking for opportunities for sequestration.

In the case of hydrogen, we’ve been producing it for decades at our manufacturing facilities. We haven’t gone out and hired all new skill sets or created a massive new infrastructure. This new Low Carbon Solutions business was created to develop new businesses around existing skill sets. It’s difficult to overstate the potential of these new markets. We estimate that CCS alone will be a $4 trillion dollar industry by 2050.

Q: Methane has also been a large part of ExxonMobil’s lower-emission efforts. Can you talk a bit about that?

MK: Methane reduction can be implemented more directly than some other greenhouse gas mitigations that are required over the next 30 to 50 years. We have some exciting tools today that can make a big difference sooner rather than later. We’ve announced work on ground-based continuous sensors, aerial, airplanes — and we know satellites are going to be somewhere in that solution set.

But I remind myself to stay humble. None of these technologies existed five years ago, and it would be naive to think that they won’t evolve further. We’ll have to keep up.

Q: What is work like for younger employees? What are you seeing from the younger generation?

MK: Young people very much want to be part of the energy transition while making certain that growing global energy needs are met. They want to be part of the solution. Part of my job is to help people understand the ways in which their roles at ExxonMobil are advancing those low-carbon solutions, or how their skills will transition to those solutions as our future projects pick up steam.

Q: Speaking of those future projects, Exxon has committed to spending $15 billion on greenhouse gas emissions reduction over the next five years. Can you talk a bit about what this will help fund?

MK: We’ve put a significant amount of that money into the broad categories of carbon capture, hydrogen and biofuels. We’ve captured more carbon than any other company in the world and are continuing to grow our CCS operations even further. Last year we announced the Houston hub, which is a simple but big idea that says, “We have this large industrial center in Houston with a large number of industries. How about we capture its carbon output?”

And the projected numbers are really astounding: 100 million metric tons a year of carbon sequestration by 2040. There are not many companies other than ExxonMobil that can get that going. We also recently announced a blue hydrogen facility at our Baytown complex. Blue hydrogen is produced from natural gas, supported by carbon capture and storage, and the project is expected to reduce our Scope 1 and 2 emissions there by up to 30%.

So that $15 billion is a big number, but it’s a sign of our commitment to this problem. That’s the kind of buy-in and commitment that society’s going to need in order to solve these very complicated problems.

This is a once-in-a-generation challenge, and I’m excited for the future.

[1] Net zero scope 1 and 2 greenhouse gas emissions for operated assets by 2050.

Tags

  • icon/text-size
You May Also Like

Explore More

The power of algae
Test, improve, grow
FAQ: How often should you actually change your oil?