如何减少温室气体排放: 埃克森美孚2025年减排计划

科学技术

2020年年底,埃克森美孚公布了减少运营设施温室气体排放的未来五年计划。2021年以来,作为首要任务,这些计划指导着我们的战略和运营。以下为减排计划的重点内容:

  • 上游温室气体排放强度较2016年下降15-20%。
  • 相较于2016年,甲烷排放强度下降40-50%,同时全球运营设施的燃除强度降低35-45%。

相关计划涵盖了公司运营资产的范畴1和范畴2排放,上游业务的绝对温室气体排放量预计可减少约30%。今年2月,我们已经开始在《能源和碳排放报告》中提供范畴3排放量,并将在今后每年提供。

埃克森美孚2025年减排计划的设计是可信且可行的,并已纳入我们的规划和预算流程。展望2025年之后的将来,我希望公司蓄势以发,提出全新的规模化解决方案,进一步减少温室气体排放,同时为维护经济和生活水平提供可负担的、可靠的能源。

在短期内,2025年减排计划预计将与《巴黎协定》中阐述的“2℃路径”的轨迹保持一致,意味着到2025年,全球温室气体排放量较2016年的数据将减少约10%。应对双重挑战需要所有人齐心协力,而埃克森美孚这样的公司能带来独有的巨大优势和规模,助力全社会迈向低碳未来。

埃克森美孚正在对一个碳捕集与存储(CCS)中心进行概念规划,以捕集、运输和永久储存亚太地区工业活动产生的二氧化碳。

如何实现这些计划?

减排的很大一部分来自我们在美国的非常规上游生产,我们在持续减少那里的燃除和甲烷排放。为此,我们与该领域其他各方合作,发展出一系列行业领先的最佳实践,包括增加泄漏检测和维修、采用先进技术改良检查、淘汰高引气气动装置(到2020年埃克森美孚的美国非常规运营已经几乎全部淘汰了这些设备)。我们提供了一个甲烷监管框架,倡导各国政府在全行业制定类似要求;此外,我们还与高校合作,推进研究和监测网络。

同样,我们的下游和化工业务将继续专注于提高能源效率,在生产设施增加废热发电,积极采用减排新技术和工艺。我曾介绍过的一个案例:即公司在鹿特丹部署的加氢裂化系统,这个经重新设计的项目荣获了新泽西研究发展委员会颁发的爱迪生奖。在过去几年中,我的团队研发出可大幅减排温室气体的新型材料、液体分离膜和气体处理技术。一个典型案例是突破性的Celestia™催化剂,它能帮助炼油厂有效去除柴油这种商业运输基本燃料中的硫和其它杂质,减少能源消耗并降低排放。

埃克森美孚研究和开发部副总裁Vijay Swarup博士

我们的短期减排投入与我们寻找长期解决方案的决心相辅相成。今天,我们着眼于能够实现社会净零排放大计的关键技术进步。这包括碳捕集和存储技术(CCS)、低碳氢生产、先进生物燃料和高能效制造。重要的是,这些研究方向代表了可用于三大耗能产业(商业运输、发电和工业制造)的技术,而目前可行的减排方案有限。举例来说,政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)已经确认了CCS技术对每项预期“2℃路径”的必要性,并在电力和工业设施中部署该技术。在这方面,自CCS技术问世以来,埃克森美孚的二氧化碳捕集量比其他任何公司都大。此外,我们持续与Global Thermostat和Fuel Cell等技术公司以及全球80多家高校合作,以独特的优势将这些技术组合进行规模化。

正如此前所言,应对双重挑战需要信念、创新以及最重要的一点——合作。我们的2025年减排计划加上我们最近发布的《能源与碳排放报告》中的观点,共同代表了埃克森美孚的进步与愿景。在石油与天然气行业内,我们正努力到2030年在各项业务中实现行业领先的温室气体减排表现。在社会各界继续部署太阳能和风能等新能源之际,我们亦将通过集中发展减少现有能源基础设施排放的技术,支持向低碳系统的转型。

我将以满腔热情准备好迎接未来五年的低碳之路。

 

埃克森美孚研发副总裁

Vijay Swarup博士

Tags:   Vijay Swarup减少排放碳排放降低排放
你也许也喜欢

探索更多

How ExxonMobil Is Reducing Greenhouse Gas Emissions: Our 2025 Emission-Reduction Plans

Science & technology

Before 2020 ended, ExxonMobil announced plans to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from its operations over the next five years. As 2021 unfolds, those plans will be at the forefront of our minds, guiding our strategy and operations. The following are a few highlights outlining our emission-reduction plans:

  • We plan to reduce Upstream GHG emissions intensity by 15-20% compared to 2016 levels.
  • We plan to reduce methane emissions intensity by 40-50% and decrease flaring intensity across our global operations by 35-45% compared to 2016 levels.

These plans cover Scope 1 and 2 emissions from assets operated by the company and are expected to reduce absolute greenhouse gas emissions by an estimated 30% across the company’s Upstream business. We’ve also started providing Scope 3 emissions earlier this month in our Energy & Carbon Summary, which we’ll continue to do on an annual basis.

ExxonMobil is planning a CCS hub concept to capture, transport and permanently store CO2 generated by industrial activity in the Asia-Pacific region

Our 2025 emission-reduction plans, which were developed as part of our planning and budgeting process, are designed to be credible and tangible. Looking beyond 2025, I am hopeful that our company will be well poised to bring forth new scalable solutions to further mitigate GHG emissions while providing affordable, reliable energy that upholds economies and living standards.

In the short term, the 2025 reduction plans we’ve outlined are projected to be consistent with the trajectories of a 2-degree pathway, a vision articulated in the Paris Agreement that translates to about a 10% reduction in global GHG emissions by 2025 versus 2016 numbers. Solving the dual challenge requires all of us to be in this together, and companies like ours can bring unique strengths and scale that help put societies on a path to a lower-carbon tomorrow.

How are we expecting to achieve these plans?

A significant portion of this reduction will come from our unconventional Upstream production in the U.S., where we are continuing to reduce flaring and methane emissions. To this end, in collaboration with others in the space, we have developed a series of industry-leading best practices, including increasing leak detection and repair, improving inspections with advanced technologies, and retiring high-bleed pneumatic devices (nearly 100% of these devices were phased out from our U.S. unconventional operations as of 2020). We’ve also offered a methane regulatory framework to encourage governments to enact similar requirements across the industry while working with universities to advance research and monitoring networks.

Similarly, our Downstream and Chemical operations will continue to focus on improving energy efficiency, increasing cogeneration at manufacturing facilities, and applying new technologies and techniques that reduce emissions. One example I wrote about recently is the redesigned hydrocracking system we deployed in Rotterdam that won an Edison Award from the R&D Council of New Jersey. In the past few years, my team has developed novel materials, liquid separation membranes, and gas-treating technologies that can achieve significant greenhouse gas reductions. A case in point is Celestia™, a breakthrough catalyst that can help refiners efficiently remove sulfur and other impurities from diesel, an essential fuel for commercial transportation, while using less energy and creating fewer emissions.

ExxonMobil Vice President of Research and Development Dr Vijay Swarup

Our efforts to reduce emissions in the short term run parallel to our commitment to finding solutions in the long term. Today, our eyes are focused on the technology advancements that will be crucial to achieving society’s net-zero ambitions. These include carbon capture and storage, low-carbon hydrogen production, advanced biofuels and energy-efficient manufacturing. Importantly, these research directions represent technologies that apply to three sectors of energy use (commercial transportation, power generation and industrial manufacturing) that currently have only limited viable solutions for reducing emissions. For instance, CCS, a technology that the IPCC has identified as necessary in every projected 2-degrees pathway, can be deployed at power and industrial facilities. On that note, ExxonMobil has captured more CO2 than any other company since the inception of the technology. And with our ongoing collaborations with companies like Global Thermostat and Fuel Cell, as well as more than 80 universities around the world, we are uniquely positioned to bring this portfolio of technologies to greater scale.

Like I’ve said before, solving the dual challenge will require conviction, ingenuity and, most importantly, collaboration. The plans for 2025 we’ve outlined, coupled with insights from our recent Energy & Carbon Summary, represent our progress and vision. Within the oil and gas sector, we’re working toward industry-leading GHG performance across our businesses by 2030. And as societies continue to deploy renewables like solar and wind, we will support this transition to lower-carbon systems by focusing on technologies that mitigate emissions from the existing energy infrastructure.

I am both enthused and prepared for the work ahead as we approach the next five years.

By Dr. Vijay Swarup, Vice President of Research and Development, ExxonMobil

Tags:   carbon emissionsemissions reductionlowering emissionsVijay Swarup
You may also like

Explore More