乙烷:生活基础原料的一部分

科学技术

您在日常生活中使用的塑料——汽车的内饰塑料、制作电脑屏幕的塑料以及您办公桌的模压塑料——都有一个共同点。

它们都始于乙烷。

什么是乙烷?它是天然气的重要组成部分,在过去几年里得到了广泛应用,被用于生产许多生活中使用的物品。具体来说,乙烷是生产乙烯的石化原料,而乙烯是塑料、树脂和其它工业产品的基础原料。

作为石油和天然气生产的副产品,这一新兴原料带动了美国墨西哥湾超过 1,400 亿美元 的投资。

仅在美国,目前生产的塑料中就有大约 50% 是用乙烷生产的。它也成为了一种重要的出口商品。美国预计到 2020 年每天可生产高达 200 万桶乙烷。  对塑料的需求部分缘于亚洲新兴中产阶级对消费品日益增长的需求。电子产品、家具和服装等都需要包装,这就需要更多的乙烷。

在澳大利亚,埃克森美孚通过 Esso-BHP Gippsland Basin Joint Venture 供应大量乙烷给澳大利亚唯一的塑料制造商 Qenos Altona 作为生产原料。Qenos 的产品包括商业灌溉和管道产品,以及许多日常消费品,例如:奶瓶和食品制备使用的塑料薄膜。

您在午餐时间打开食物容器时通常不会想到乙烷,但它却是现代生活的必需品。

Tags:   ethaneplastics
你也许也喜欢

探索更多

Ethane: Part of life’s building block

Science & technology

The plastics you use in your everyday life – built into your car, formed around your computer screen and moulded for your work desk — all have one thing in common.

They all start with ethane.

What is ethane? It is a natural gas liquid (NGL) that has gained popularity in the last few years and is used to produce many of the things surrounding modern life. Specifically, ethane is a petrochemical feedstock for the production of ethylene, which is a building block for plastics, resins, and other industrial products.

This new kid on the block, a by-product of oil and gas production, has driven investments of over US$ 140 billion in America’s Gulf Coast.

In the U.S. alone, ethane is used to produce about 50 percent of the plastics produced today. It has also become an important export. The U.S. expects to produce up to two million barrels of ethane a day by 2020.  The demand for plastics is partly attributed to a growing appetite for consumer goods from an emerging middle class in Asia. Electronics, furniture and clothes, amongst others, will require packaging and this will fuel the need for more ethane.

In Australia, ExxonMobil, via the Esso-BHP Gippsland Basin Joint Venture, supplies a substantial amount of ethane that serves as a feedstock for Qenos Altona, Australia’s only plastics manufacturer. Qenos’ products include commercial irrigation and piping products, as well as many everyday items for consumers, like milk bottles and plastic film used in food preparation.

Ethane isn’t usually what you think of when opening your food container at lunch, but it is a necessity for modern-day life.

Tags:   ethaneplastics
You may also like

Explore More