下一波 STEM 学生在准备应对现实问题

全球责任

国际数学奥林匹克 (IMO) 是全世界最负盛名的年轻数学天才的竞赛,其中共有来自 100 多个国家的 500 多名选手参加。

在 IMO 中,参赛者利用他们的 STEM 高超技能来解决难以攻克的数学问题。STEM 是 science(科学)、technology(科技)、engineering(工程)和 mathematics(数学)的首字母缩写总称。有些 IMO 参赛者后来成为了著名的获奖数学家和计算机科学家,在各自的领域开展前沿的研究。

埃克森美孚为全球的 STEM 项目提供支持。自 2010 年以来,埃克森美孚为马来西亚 IMO 团队的筹备和培训提供赞助。团队成员通过广泛的选拔考验,从一万多名有志向的候选人中挑选而出。

马来西亚籍 IMO 毕业生 Hanissa Shamsuddin 和 Ying Hong Tham 说,这不仅是代表祖国的机会,IMO 也提高了他们解决问题的技能。Energy Factor 最近采访了 Hanissa 和 Ying Hong,亲耳聆听他们讲述自己的 IMO 体验。

Energy Factor (EF)数学的哪些方面最吸引你?

Hanissa Shamsuddin (HS)在高中时,我发现自己真的非常喜欢通过 IMO 来做数学题。我遇到的问题需要更多思考,也需要清晰表达逻辑步骤的能力。这种过程新颖且有趣,让数学看上去更像一个写作题。

Ying Hong Tham (YHT)我觉得解决数学问题非常有趣……当我看到数学奥林匹克竞赛问题时,我立即就被迷住。

EF学习数学给您带来的最激动人心的机会是什么?

Hanissa Shamsuddin

自从参与国际海事组织竞争以来,Hanissa Shamsuddin一直被鼓励寻求数据分析工作。

HS:感谢 IMO,我在高中时遇到了很多优秀的同学,他们激励我更努力地去学习。

YHT:我读博士的时候去欧洲参加了一个暑期学校会议并参观了 CERN,这里拥有世界上最强大的粒子加速器——大型强子对撞机https://home.cern/

EF  您参加 IMO 的动机是什么?

HS我真的很喜欢奥林匹克竞赛要求参赛者解决的问题类型。高中数学感觉太过单调了。作为马来西亚人,这也给了我一种归属感以及为祖国做点事情的机会。

YHT我努力学习,希望能被 IMO 选中。因为接受赞助去世界各地考察并代表国家感觉非常酷,而且这也证明了我热衷于解决复杂的数学问题是正确的。

EF:您是怎么为 IMO 做准备的?

HS:这需要付出巨大的努力。与跟我一起参加培训的一些同学相比,我的起步比较晚。我的学校也从未选派学生参加过全国数学奥林匹克竞赛,也就是 OMK,所以我

Mathlete Ying Hong Tham

Ying Hong Tham

只能寻求外部的资源。在参加 IMO 之前,我每天会投入几个小时的时间去阅读材料并解决问题。我还会与一些队友交流想法和解决问题的技巧。

EF您未来的 STEM 研究方向是什么?

HS我想运用 STEM 知识来解决大问题。这个行业正在快速地变化,而且在数据分析和数据科学方面有很大的需求。

EF像 IMO 这种竞赛有多重要?

HSIMO 和其它学术竞赛提供的不仅仅是提升数学和科学技能的机会,它们也为世界各地像我一样喜欢复杂的数学问题的人提供了一个交流并结识的机会。

 

 

Tags:   国籍研究和发展革新马来西亚
你也许也喜欢

探索更多

Next wave of STEM students prepares for real-world problems

Citizenship

The International Mathematics Olympiad (IMO) is the world’s most prestigious competition for talented young mathematicians with over 500 participants from more than 100 countries.

At the IMO, participants tap their inner STEM prowess to solve tough mathematical problems. STEM is an umbrella acronym for science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Some IMO participants have gone on to become notable award-winning mathematicians and computer scientists for leading-edge research in their respective fields.

ExxonMobil, which supports STEM initiatives across the globe, has been sponsoring the preparation and training of Malaysia’s IMO team since 2010. Team members are chosen from extensive selection trials involving over 10,000 aspiring candidates.

In addition to the opportunity to represent the country, Malaysian IMO alumni Hanissa Shamsuddin and Ying Hong Tham said the IMO sharpened their problem-solving skills. The Energy Factor recently caught up with Hanissa and Ying Hong to hear first-hand about their experiences at the IMO.

Energy Factor: What drew you to maths?

Hanissa Shamsuddin: I found out that I really enjoyed doing math in high school through the International Mathematics Olympiad (IMO). The problems I encountered required more thought and an ability to clearly articulate the logical steps. It was new and interesting and made maths seem more like a writing subject.

Ying Hong Tham: I just thought it was pretty fun to solve maths problems…when I was exposed to Maths Olympiad problems I was immediately hooked.

EF: What is the most exciting opportunity that studying maths has given you?

Hanissa Shamsuddin

Since competing in the IMO, Hanissa Shamsuddin has been encouraged to seek a job in data analytics.

HS: Thanks to the IMO, in high school I got to meet amazing students who inspired me to work harder.

YHT: I got to go to a summer school conference in Europe as a PhD student and visited CERN, which has the world’s most powerful particle accelerator, the Large Hadron Collider.

EF:  Why did you enter the IMO?

HS: I really liked the types of problems the Olympiad challenged participants to solve. High school maths felt too mundane. As a Malaysian, it also gave me a sense of belonging and a chance to do something for the country.

YHT: I worked hard to get selected to go to IMO because it seemed cool to be sponsored to travel the world and represent the country, and it would justify my obsession in solving complicated maths problems.

EF: How did you prepare for the IMO?

HS: It takes a lot of effort. I started late compared to many of the students I trained with. My school also never participated in the National Maths Olympiad – the OMK – so

I had to seek outside resources. Leading up to the IMO, I’d dedicate a few hours every day to reading material and solving problems. I also exchanged ideas and problem-solving skills with some of my teammates.

Mathlete Ying Hong Tham

Ying Hong Tham

EF: Where may STEM studies take you in the future?

 HS: I want to use my STEM knowledge to solve big problems. Industry is changing fast and there is a lot of demand for skills in data analysis and data science.

EF: How important are competitions like the IMO?

HS: The IMO and other academic competitions aren’t just a chance to improve your maths and science skills. They’re also a chance to mingle and make friends with people from all over the world who, like me, love a good maths problem.

Tags:   citizenshipinnovationMalaysiaresearch and developmentSTEM
You may also like

Explore More