成长型产业中的新人才

全球责任

如同许多大学生,Yasi Koriam 努力在寻找可以保障自己未来的热情。

有机会在加拿大参加由埃克森美孚赞助的为期一年的培训课程为 Yasi 提供了新的方向。现在,他在自己的祖国巴布亚新几内亚成为快速发展的天然气产业中的一员。

“我是巴布亚新几内亚第一批完成这个计划的成员之一,”他说道,“这段经历为我和我的同事们提供了一个很好的成长机会。”

Koriam自 2010 年以来一直担任海兹燃气调试厂的电力工程技术员,这个工厂是埃克森美孚运营的巴布亚新几内亚液化天然气 (PNG LNG) 项目下的几个工厂之一。海兹厂位于巴布亚新几内亚海拉省,通过它处理的燃气,为亚洲各地的家庭和企业提供可靠的能源。

每天 Koriam 和他的同事们都会接受新的挑战。今天他们或许在井场现场执行日常维护,而明天他们可能要去边远地区安装新的电力设备。

埃克森美孚在当地拥有 3,200 名员工,其中 86% 来自于巴布亚新几内亚。这么高的本地雇用率要归功于公司对培训计划的重视,但培训不会在员工被录用之后就停止。Koriam 能够在工作中进一步磨练自己的技能,并可能成为一名用有国家执照的电工。

“我能给的最好建议是从事你感兴趣的工作,从事能让你有满足感的工作,”Koriam 这么说,“我很幸运能在我每天的工作中发现这一点。”

Tags:   PNG LNGYasi Koriam
你也许也喜欢

探索更多

A new talent for a growing industry

Citizenship

Like many university students, Yasi Koriam struggled to find a passion that would also secure his future.

But an opportunity to take a year-long training course in Canada sponsored by ExxonMobil gave Yasi a new direction, and now he’s part of the fast-growing natural gas industry in his home country of Papua New Guinea.

“I was part of the first group from Papua New Guinea to complete the program,” he says. “That experience gave me and my colleagues a great foundation to grow from.”

Koriam has worked since 2010 as an electrical technician at the Hides Gas Conditioning Plant, one of several facilities within the ExxonMobil-operated Papua New Guinea liquefied natural gas (PNG LNG) project. The Hides plant, located in PNG’s Hela Province, processes gas that will go on to provide reliable energy to homes and businesses around Asia.

Every day brings a new challenge for Koriam and his colleagues. One day they may be performing routine maintenance at the wellpad sites, and the next they’re traveling to a remote location to install new electrical equipment.

ExxonMobil employs 3,200 workers, and 86 percent of them are Papua New Guineans. That high local employment rate is thanks to the company’s focus on training programs. But training doesn’t stop once employees are hired. Koriam has been able to further hone his skills on the job, even becoming a nationally licensed electrician.

“The best advice I could give is to take up a career in something that you have an interest in doing, something that gives you satisfaction,” Koriam says. “I’m fortunate to have found that in the work I do every day.”

Tags:   PNGPNG LNGYasi Koriam
You may also like

Explore More